Employee Handbooks, forms and laws oh my!

The topic of health care reform aka PPACA (patient protection and affordable care act) is starting to bore me a bit.  Not that there aren’t more things to learn with this massive set of new rules, but I think it’s time for a different topic.

When is the last time you updated your employee handbook?  Do you even have an employee handbook?

Do you have trouble finding forms for employees when you need them?  How about the most recent form W-4 or I9 for a new hire?

You see I understand this since I am a small employer too.  As small employers, we wear many different hats and sometimes those hats change as each day goes on.  For instance the middle and end of the month, I am the CFO.  I am the mail room clerk everyday and heaven forbid, I am the IT person too ( Being the IT person is a little scary because I know just enough to be dangerous).  I am a customer service representative and I am the sales person too.  I have a fish tank in my office which makes me a care giver to my comet goldfish named Phishy.  I make a TO-DO list everyday and on the days I get to check everything off I am so happy, but there are some days when I stay late so I can mark off at least one thing from my list!

But let’s face it, as much as you may plan your workload, things get out of control sometimes.  An employee may come to you with the exciting news that they got married over the weekend.  “When I can add my new spouse”  they ask.  Of course that’s when you call me, but what happens if someone comes to you and tells you they received a summons for jury duty.  Since it’s our civic duty to serve as juror’s, I’m sure you wouldn’t give them advice on how to get out of it.  But do you know about what legal requirements you have as an employer?

Do you understand what At Will Employment is all about?  What about ergonomics or even appearance and grooming?

I have just implemented a program for my clients that is designed to help you with all these things and more.  The program is called HR Wow and will not cost you a dime.  You can have access to  the latest forms for all of your Human Resource needs as well as the latest information on all the laws that apply to your business.  You will also be able to develop an employee handbook at no cost to you.  And all because you are my client.  No catches, you don’t have to give up any more information to get the program.  Really, I’m not selling anything, just providing a service that I thought would be useful for you.

All you have to do is let me know if you are interested.  I can send you the link and you can look at the demo and let me know if you would like to use the program.


2 Comments on “Employee Handbooks, forms and laws oh my!”

  1. Brenda D'Amico says:

    Lois,

    First of all….. Has anyone ever told you how hilarious you are? If I would ever use those letters “lmao” I would leave it here, but I don’t talk like that so I wouldn’t do that! LOL

    Second of all…. What a GREAT idea! You’re so smart… (no blond jokes for you!) I would be interested in the Employee Handbook info. We know we have the papers but in the busy day to day office work things do get shuffled and do not always end up back where they need to be. Thanks so much. Brenda

  2. loiskubota says:

    Thanks Brenda. I will get you the connection for the program. Glad you like the blog. It’s a little way of having fun and giving information at the same time.


Leave a comment